New Year – Same Promise

Not the start to the new year that I was hoping for. 

Finally got through to my daughter, who has returned to Australia, to discover that she was more aloof, disconnected, angry, superior, blaming and cold than ever before. Seems it’s been one step forward and five back. Seems she is not receptive to my love at all.


I still refuse to believe a future without her return. Maybe that makes me naive. Maybe it’s a virtue. Maybe it means nothing. Maybe it’s meaning is yet to be revealed. 


But today is not a good day because doubt is at my door and bitterness towards her tormentors is bubbling in my belly. Both are not welcome and will be turned away – but my daughter always will be welcomed with open arms.  That’s a promise. 


One thought on “New Year – Same Promise

Leave a comment